For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul?

I asked a Christian Missionary who had given her life to Christ, why she was so obsessed with her children’s education. Her answer frightened me and I think it brought some awareness to her as well.

sc00526b16

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against education, or going to the best schools but when we obsess and idolize over anything this becomes a problem. Many Christian Missionaries come to this country to share the Good News as well as to partake in the many amenities this great country has to offer. The problem for Christians begins when we start to adopt the American lifestyle of “taking it easy”, the “I deserve a better life” attitude, the ” I need things to make my life complete” attitude… this is not what Christ has called us to do.

Matthew 16:24  Then Jesus told his disciples, If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  

This Christian Missionary’s new idol was her children’s education… and this literally took up all of her time – her children even said “If I get A’s in my class that means I love Jesus and Jesus loves me more…” This lady was not shy and even bragged about how she struggled obsessively getting her children into the best schools… I began to ask her a series of questions:

360_wmoms_0131

I first asked her, “what if your children say they want to become Missionaries (like you and your husband) teaching the Bible and helping those less fortunate”… this question infuriated her and she said, “My children will go to school, graduate, work and serve God where I live.” I knew this was a touchy subject so I laid off and asked her…

ME: “WHY were you so intent on getting your children into the best Pre-School? and she responded…

HER: “So that they can get into the best Grade School Kindergarten-5th grade”

ME: I asker her “WHY would you want them to get into the best Grade School?” and she responded…

HER: “So that they can get into the best Junior High School”

ME: I asker her “WHY would you want them to get into the best Junior High School?” and she responded…”

HER: “So they can get into the best High School”, I asker her

ME: “WHY would you want them to get into the best High School?” and she responded…

6020256_f260

 

HER: “So they can get into the best College”, I asker her

ME: “WHY would you want them to get into the best College?” and she responded…

HER: “So they can get into the best Grad Program”, I asker her

ME: “WHY would you want them to get into the best Grad program?” and she responded…

HER: “So they can get the best and highest paying JOB”… I asker her “WHY would you want them to get the best and highest paying job?” and finally she had no response! There was dead silence… as she had run out of answers… so I decided to answer this one for her…

I said to her, “they will have the best job and the most money so that they can one day afford the very best TOMBSTONE when they die.”

My point is simple, what use is education, money, knowledge, resources if we are not using them for the glory of God? I guess living in the USA changes our mindset, there are so many things that distract us and veer us off our path (this was just one example) I am sure you may have another even better example of how subtle sin creeps into our lives and deters us from following our path in denying ourselves, carrying our cross and following Jesus. May God give us eyes to see through these false treasures and look towards the true treasure of the cross.

Matthew 16:25-26 For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?

Leave a Reply

