How Rich Are You?

130723171058-wealthy-five-million-620xa

Last week I was meditating on Matthew 6:19-21 and realized what true wealth is… true wealth is something that money can not buy and death can not steal

Matthew 6:19-21  Jesus says, 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.
Think about it… no matter how much money you save up, no matter how successful you are – we will all die and no amount of money or success can buy you eternal life… so the question is: What are you investing your life in?
1. WASTE: Some people waste there life “living for the moment” i.e. and wild partying, drugs, alcohol and sexually abusive behavior. You can waste it on being lazy and procrastinating and throwing opportunities down the drain.
2. SPEND: Others spend there life. You can spend it trying to be the best and reach the top of whatever it is your trying to reach. You can spend it on doing whatever it takes to reach your goals and running over whoever it takes to get there. You can spend it on being self-focused and looking out for only number one.
3. INVEST: Finally, you can invest your life. You can give back out of the things you have been blessed with, you can use your time and talents to make a difference in the lives of others and you can invest in people by being a true friend and someone that they can count on no matter what.

Sometimes I complain to God about things that I do not have… this negative attitudes inhibits me from investing my life in Him and His Word… I tend to hold on to the things of this world with clenched fist and I say to myself I have too little! However, when I look at my life I often forget how blessed I really am! Dear God thanks for this beautiful life and forgive me if I do not love it enough…
for when I looked inside of my wallet I found it to be empty, when I looked through all of my pockets and they too were all empty! But then I looked inside my heart and there I found you oh God, and only then could I realize how rich I truly am.
Leave a Reply

