FREEDOM!

Image

Key verse – Galatians 5:1 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

I knew a guy  once who frantically refused to step inside of a church with me… he would say “No, No I can’t go in there God doesn’t want me to have freedom, he doesn’t want me to have fun…”

It’s unfortunate, when we are chained to sins ugly straps and blinded by sins appeal we can not see, hear or even understand the truth! for Jesus says in Luke 4:18 “I have come to set the captives free…”

Todays text (Galatians 5:1) begins with a clear and refreshing statement of Christ’s will for our lives… FREEDOM. 

Sometimes I get bogged down with life’s many dilemmas… I get mixed up about what I want (personally) in my life and what God’s will for me in my life is. More often than not I tend to worry about decisions (which are simply not an issue with God) I worry about where to go to school, what job to take, where to live, exams, my future etc… When these thoughts race through my head I need to orient my life on the clear Word of God.

And here is one: “For freedom Christ has set us free.

Christ’s will for me and for you is that we enjoy His freedom. Where you go to school, what job you do, where you live, your future etc., are not nearly so crucial as whether you stand firm in His freedom. This is the Good news that God gave us through His Son Jesus Christ. Jesus has set us free the root of our slavery which is sin.

In John 15:4-5 Jesus says this: “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing“.

Remaining in Jesus and remaining free is not such an easy task especially in this world where we live. All around me are loud advertisements, flashy distractions compelling salesmen telling me what I should be doing, what I should be eating, drinking, what I should be watching, where I should be going… These overwhelming sounds and visuals often drown out the single voice of my Lord and Savior who is constantly shouting to me…“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.”

And so I get lost in my way… I pray that I may one day stand firm like Paul and Silas

Acts 16:25 About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them.

Two friends singing joyfully and praying earnestly in the valley of the shadow of death while everyone else sobbed and looked on in amazement. Because even in prison we are free due to the great love of Christ.

Pray with me: Heavenly Father, into your hands I place my worries, cares and troubles. Into your wisdom I place my path, my direction, my goal and my life. Into your love I place my entire life. Grant me the freedom that is in Christ. I pray in Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

